New North Ryde RSL Club Board elected

COVID-19 has played havoc with North Ryde RSL’s AGM and Board elections schedule and club management will be relieved to have reached the finish line on the weekend.

With the pandemic impacting of the Board’s ability to convene this year’s AGM in May as originally planned, the meeting finally took place on Sunday.
The unusual circumstances also meant this year’s elections were exclusively conducted by electronic voting both online and at terminals at the club.
By close of voting at 12pm July 19, 2020, 511 members had cast ballots, roughly half the usual turnout.
With Dave Baker resigning his directorship in May, the six remaining members of the previous Board all stood for re-election and were returned by members.
Only one of four new contenders for a Board position was successful, with Graeme Waldron claiming the remaining spot.
The newly-elected North Ryde RSL Board in ballot order is: Beth Ashcroft, Dick Reading, Jim Morris (President), Graeme Waldron, Paul Stevens, Fiona Osborne and Gordon Macpherson.